OVP 2017 winner

volunteer service recognition Ceremony

The annual Volunteer Service Recognition Ceremony is a special presentation to recognize students, staff, registered student organizations, and other student groups for their contributions on campus, to the local community, and their service throughout the country and around the world.

Members across campus and from community agencies are invited to nominate students, staff, and registered student organizations for their volunteer contributions on and off campus. A selection committee reviews and evaluates each nomination based on work ethic, range of impact, issues that were addressed, the involvement of others, and what drives them to volunteer. The nominations are split between undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty and staff, and group contributions.

2017 Recipients

Faculty/Staff Volunteer of the Year: 

Jill Rannebarger for her service and fundraising efforts in the fight against cancer.

Service Project Director of the Year: 

Melinda Holmes for her leadership in planning iHelp 2016.

Graduate Student Volunteer of the Year: 

Alexandra van Doren for her work with refugees through Three Spinners.

Illini Spirit Award: 

Jill Nicklas for her work in developing the FANS program in elementary schools.

Innovative Project of the Year: 

Mahima Goel for her work in piloting the ITigr software system at Carle Foundation Hospital.

Community Impact Award: 

Libby Ebelhar for her service through numerous initiatives in the Champaign-Urbana community.

Commitment to Service Award: 

Alpha Phi Omega for their active involvement in the community through over 26,000 hours of service.

Dedicated Cause Award: 

Colleges Against Cancer for their dedication in ending cancer through patient programs, awareness raising, and community empowerment.

Unity through Service Award: 

Muslim Student Association for their dedication to interfaith service.

Welcome to the Illini Union website! Tell us what you think!